The Graceful Cyclists

Cycle touring and other adventures

Planning More Rides

Recently I was sitting around trying to work out how to keep my self occupied and came across a website claiming to have a list of the World’s top 50 riding experiences. I read it and immediately thought that it wasn’t the best rides in the world,  quite simply because any list that doesn’t involve cycling around Tasmania is severely floored. However, the more that I read it, the more that I realised that this list was a great cross section of rides from different disciplines and parts of the world.

So I have set myself a goal of completing as many of these rides as possible.

The list of rides can be summarised as follows, I will keep the site up to date with plans and completed rides.

Number of Rides 52
Rides Completed 3
Ride Remaining 49
Name State Country Completed
Sunshine Coast and Hinerland QLD AUS  Done
Daintree and Cape York QLD AUS
Outback Odyssey SA AUS
Kangaroo Island SA AUS Done
Bay of Fires TAS AUS Done
Tasmania Trail TAS AUS
Around the Bay VIC AUS Done
Great Ocean Rd VIC AUS
Alpine Classic VIC AUS
3 Peaks Challenge VIC AUS
Murray to Mountains Rail Trail VIC AUS
Great Vic Bike Ride VIC AUS
Lilydale to Warburton Rail Trail VIC AUS
Five Dams Challenge WA AUS
Rottnest Island WA AUS
Munda Biddi Trail WA AUS
Nullarbor Plain WA & SA AUS
Bicentennial National Trail QLD to VIC AUS
Death Rd Bolivia
Icefields Parkway Canada
Cape Breton Island Canada
Whistler Mountain Bike Park Canada
Beijing China
Lake District England
Rhine River Cycleway Europe
Europe Europe
The Pyrenees France
Loire Valley France
Etape du Tour France
Paris-Brest-Paris France
Paris Roubaix Cyclosportif France
L’Eroica Italy
East Coast of Sardinia Italy
Hokkaido Japan
Amsterdam Netherlands
Lake Taupo NZ
Otago Rail Trail NZ
Golden Ring Russia
Hebrides Islands Scotland
Capetown South Africa
Camino de Santiago Spain
Barcelona Spain
Friendship Highway Tibet and Nepal
Tour de Timor East Timor
Critical Mass San Francisco USA
Mr Toad’s Wild Ride Lake Tahoe USA
Going to the Sun Road Montana USA
Ragbrai Iowa USA
Route 66 USA
Iditarod Trail Alaska USA
Pacific West Coast USA
National Highway 1 Vietnam


Categories: Planning

Tags:

1 reply

  1. Love this list there is a few rides on there I have already done but quite a lot more that I have not would like to take a copy of this list giving me some fresh ideas for turning fifty tour:-) and some I might add that I want to do

Leave a comment